Ponca Jazz Records/Norsk Jazzforlag MusicStore
Ánnásuolo - Ánnásuolo

Ánnásuolo - Ánnásuolo

Album: Ánnásuolo
Title: Ánnásuolo
Cat. No.: PJRCD 1028


The Sami legacy

Ánnásuolo was given its name from a small fishing village, a hidden gem, at the coast of the northernmost county of Norway. On the band’s debut album Ánnásuolo presents original music featuring lyrics of the late, great Sami poet Nils-Aslak Valkeapää. John-Kåre Hansen, guitarist and Ánnásuolo founder, composed all eight tracks on the album consisting of musical elements from as well traditional Sami folk music to jazz, pop and electronica.


Ánnásuolo vocalist Marianne Pentha is interpreting the Valkeapää-poems in a highly tasteful manner with her impressive voice. Pentha’s primary career as a backup singer for several of Norway’s most profiled artists has led her to a natural place as a band leader thus the experienced singer has indeed featured as a soloist on both primetime TV-shows as well as being lead vocalist together with the Norwegian Radio Orchestra (KORK).


About 20000 people speak the Sami language of the indigenous people of the north. And even though lead singer Marianne Pentha grew up with her father speaking Sami, she never learned it properly. Now she’s taking her indigenous legacy back and makes her debut recording with Ánnásuolo in Sami.


Ánnásuolo guitarist John-Kåre Hansen picked the musicians of Ánnásuolo considering their diverse musical background of genres and high level of musicianship. Coming from a jazz background himself his philosophy for the band is for each and everyone to bring their own particular musical voice into the band, thus making the songs a result of the member’s individual voice. On Ánnásuolo’s debut album we get to hear what this sounds like. Featuring a clean yet sometimes intense singing voice and a clear, classical jazz guitar tone together with the indigenous singing style of yoik (Hansen) the listener will experience musical contrasts with the melodic, groovy, electronic and sometimes almost noisy elements of Ánnásuolo.  

Now presenting their debut album Ánnásuolo wants to focus on new Sami music and beautiful Sami poetry. 

Lineup: Marianne Pentha, vocals / John-Kåre Hansen, guitar and vocals / Eirik Fjelde, keyboards / Svein Schultz, bass / Jakop Janssønn, drums

Produced by Svein Schultz and John-Kåre Hansen. / Recorded in Store Studio, Bodø, Norway 2016

Mixed and mastered by Håvard Christensen and John-Kåre Hansen in Store Studio.   

Track list: 

1. Duoddariinnai ija bealit (Night Tundra) 

2. Mánu jalla (Lunatic) 

3. Vuosttaš suotnjarat (First Rays Of Light)

4. Ja eallin (And Life) 

5. Jápmin (Death) 

6. Málttas (Ailing) 

7. Beaivi (Sun) 

8. Násteálbmi (Starry Night) 

169 NOK